Pz Myers accusing men of rape?

The smears get increasingly serious as PZ Myers crosses a new line

by MICHAEL NUGENT on OCTOBER 7, 2014

In recent weeks, since I defended Richard Dawkins and the atheist movement from misrepresentations and smears in mainstream media articles, I have become the target of similar smears on various blogs. You can read details here.

Now PZ Myers has crossed a new line by publicly alleging that I am defending rapists (that’s rapists, plural) because certain people comment on my blog. The desensitisation process is ratcheting along, with increasingly serious allegations now being casually made as if they were normal discourse.

Given the limit of hours in a day, I’m not going to follow every Gish Gallop of increasingly bizarre smears that are now targeted at me, particularly given the flexibility of interpretation that some people grant themselves in using phrases like providing a haven for harassers and misogynists.

But I will not let go unanswered the serious and unambiguous smear that I am defending rapists, made publicly by a prominent atheist and academic. I ask PZ to withdraw it and apologise. I also include some recent advice from PZ himself about how to properly apologise.

 

The smears get increasingly serious as PZ Myers crosses a new line

PZ Myers has failed five times to justify his smear that I am defending and providing a haven for rapists on my blog

last year Pz Accused Michael Shermer of rape based on hearsay accounts.  instead of reporting it to the police. he post the allegations on his blog. Shermer  and his lawyer sent him a cease and desist letter. after that PZ went silent.  this year he is doing it again accusing another man of defending rapists and using his blog to provide  a haven for rapists.  instead of reporting to the police he decides to post them online.

 

 

read the cease and desist letter sent by the Law firm representing Shermer

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.