MTR fare increases met with protests

Monday, June 30, 2014

Travelers groaned as MTR fares became more expensive yesterday. More than half of passengers will now pay an extra 20 HK cents or less, and 20 percent 50 HK cents more.

A mother living in Tung Chung said the increase makes her burden heavier than before “because I cannot benefit from any one of the new schemes.”

She said: “Each time I bring my two kids to Kowloon Tong, then back home, my fare is HK$30 and my two kids pay HK$15 each.

“If my whole family, including my husband, go to Kowloon Tong, it will cost hundreds of dollars a week.”

Another passenger who traveled to Kowloon Tong from Tseung Kwan O said: “I think service quality should be relative to the fare increase.”

 

 

Hundreds of members of the Concern Public Transportation Affairs Alliance protested at Admiralty MTR station, calling on the government to freeze fares until a review of the Fare Adjustment Mechanism in 2017.

 

http://www.thestandard.com.hk/news_detail.asp?we_cat=4&art_id=146894&sid=42538106&con_type=1&d_str=20140630&fc=1

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.