Will.i.am admits to copyright breach on Chris Brown collaboration

just an ordinary day in the shit music industry of America. Wil I am of the Black eyed peas admit to the world that he stole beats for his latest album.

 

Will.i.am of the Black Eyed Peas is embroiled in a copyright dispute after Russian DJ Arty accused the artist of stealing the beat for his Chris Brown collaboration “Let’s Go.”

Earlier this month, Arty took to Twitter to complain that Will.i.am, whose real name is William Adams, had used parts of “Rebound,” Arty’s song with producer Mat Zo, without permission.

On Tuesday, Adams, 38, spoke to radio station KIIS-FM about the kerfuffle, admitting that he used “Rebound” as the basis of “Let’s Go.”

“Arty is a dope producer, so I wrote this song to ‘Rebound’ this last year,” Adams said. “I got in touch with Arty and showed it ( to) him, did a different version to it cause I asked him to make it newer ’cause I don’t just wanna take your song and rap over it. But in a year’s time, time’s gone by, (and) we preferred writing over and using the (original) ‘Rebound.’

“Something happened (with) the clearance,” Adams continued. “Hopefully, we resolved the issue.”

“I’m a fan of Arty. I think he’s great and the world needs to know about how talented those guys are,” Adams added. “It’s sad that’s turned into a fiasco.”

link